In New York it is always important to make sure that your vehicle is properly registered. Vehicle and Traffic Law (V&T Law) section 401 covers the rules and regulations in New York with respect to vehicle registration. Every car on the road, even vehicles parked on the street must be properly registered. New York requires registration renewal once every two years. If your car does not pass the annual safety inspection you will not be allowed to renew your cars registration.
There is plenty of information that a police officer can get by just running your license plates including any open and past citations, criminal history and basic information on the vehicle owner such as home address.
How Do I Renew My Registration Or Make Sure My Vehicle Is Properly Registered In NY?
If you are a resident of NY and your name is attached to a vehicle as the owner whether it’s a used or new car then you must register the car with the State of New York. If your registration is close to being expired the NY Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) issues a notice about forty five to sixty days for a driver to make sure their registration is up to date. There are several option to renew your registration including by phone, online, by mail or in person at your local DMV. Visit here for more information and begin renewing your vehicle registration.
People who move to New York and become new residents are allowed 30 days to have their car registered with the state. If you are purchasing your vehicle from another owner, be sure to have the owner provide you proof that they have legal ownership of the vehicle and that they are transferring ownership to you. To see the necessary paperwork needed to register your vehicle check here.
What Are The Fines And Penalties For Not Having My Vehicle Properly Registered?
Failure to renew your registration is a non-moving violation, which means that there are no points to be applied to your NY license. Here are the fines one can expect for not having their car properly registered. If your registration has been expired for over 60 Days the fine is a minimum of $70 and can go up to $300 along with the $85 surcharge. If your registration has been expired for less than 60 days the fine is a minimum of $40 and can go up to $300 and an automatic $85 surcharge.